Reasons not to upgrade

Hey, I try to be as adventurous as the next guy, but I’ve never been an early adopter…well that’s not true. The reason I’m no longer an early adopter is because I paid $2600 for my first PC, and got spanked when only a year later prices had fallen to below a grand. So I like to take the wait and see approach. If you notice, all my InDesign posts refer to CS3. Too many people tell me that CS4 isn’t that marvelous an improvement (except for the nifty way you can export an InDesign doc to a page-turning flash movie). So just like I waited til CS2 to upgrade from PageMaker, I’m waiting til CS5 has something to really knock my socks off, worthy of the exhorbitant upgrade prices Adobe wants.

Turns out my wait and see attitude has saved me much grief. Apple has been contacting me to upgrade Leopard to Snow Leopard. Although it seemed like a good deal at only $29.99, turns out there is a major bug that destroys all your data. Yikes. You can read about that here, here, and here. Suffice it to say, taking a wait and see approach might not make you a marketer’s favorite demographic, but it will save you money and heartache in the long run.

About this entry